Gov. Kevin Stitt has approved new emergency rules that will update current regulations and set new license categories for Oklahoma’s medical marijuana program. The new emergency rules will be effective on September 14, said Tulsa medical marijuana attorney Stephen Cale.
The Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority adopted new emergency rules in accordance with statutory changes made during the 2019 legislative session.
Changes For Patients
Patient Recommendations: For patients, the changes include the ability to get a medical marijuana recommendation from physicians licensed by, and in good standing with, the Oklahoma Podiatric Medical Examiners Board. So, podiatrists (D.P.M.) will now be able to provide recommendations along with Doctors of Osteopathy (D.O.) and Medical Doctors (M.D.).
Short-Term License: A new 60-day short-term license will be available for adult and minor Oklahoma residents with a 60-day doctor’s recommendation. The license fee will be $100 or $20 for patients who qualify for a discount.
Disabled Veteran Discount: Veterans with a 100% disability rating from the Veteran’s Administration will now be able to receive a medical marijuana patient license with a discounted application fee of $20, said Tulsa medical marijuana attorney Stephen Cale.
License Renewal For Businesses
The online renewal system for businesses will be available starting August 30. Businesses should submit their renewal application prior to the expiration date of their license. However, renewals should not be submitted sooner than 60 days before it expires. Submitting the renewal application on time will allow the existing license to remain valid while the renewal is in process, according to the OMMA.
Stand-alone transporter licenses are a new business license category, along with individual transporter agent licenses, said Tulsa medical marijuana attorney Stephen Cale. A transporter license and an individual transporter agent card will be required for transporting medical marijuana.
The fee for stand-alone transporter licenses is $2,500 for one year. The fee for each one-year transporter agent license is $100.
Growers, processors, and dispensaries will continue to be issued a transporter license upon approval of their business license, said Tulsa medical marijuana attorney Stephen Cale. Transporter agents must work with their employer to submit their application and must apply for a separate license for each employer if working for multiple businesses.
RELATED ARTICLES: New Law Adds Mandates for Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Transporters, Businesses | What You Need To Know
New Law Creates Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Transporter Agent License
Required Certificate Of Compliance For Business Applicants
All business applicants are now required to submit with their application a Certificate of Compliance completed by the political subdivision where the business is located.
Other Proposed Rules Under Review
Other license categories and rule changes not included in these current emergency rules are still under review and will be available at a later date.
Working With The Cale Law Office
The Cale Law Office is dedicated to the practice of criminal defense and medical marijuana law. Our mission is to achieve the best possible results for our clients through hard work, attention to detail, and aggressive representation.
This is done while maintaining the highest level of professionalism, integrity, and ethical standards.
If you need legal representation, consulting, or compliance auditing in the medical marijuana field, call the Cale Law Office at 918-277-4800. Your initial consultation is free. Tulsa medical marijuana attorney Stephen Cale is a Legal Committee member of the National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws (NORML). He has been serving people with legal needs for 20 years.